The primary goal of ITLS in Saskatchewan is to provide quality trauma life support training for Emergency Health Care Providers in the province of Saskatchewan.


Our Courses

ITLS offers two core programs: the Basic Course for is suited for the following medical practitioners: First Responder, Emergency Medical Responder, Licensed Practical Nurse, Primary Care Paramedic, or Intermediate Care Paramedic. The Advanced Course is suited for the following practitioners: Advanced Care Paramedic, Registered Nurse, Psychiatric Nurse, or Nurse Practitioner (RN-NP) and Physicians. Please note that some professional groups may only require a basic level provider because of scope of practice regulations within the profession.  By taking an Advanced Course, ITLS does not certify to practice those skills. Always contact your professional licensing body or regulator for specific requirements.

Provider Courses

The ITLS Basic Provider Course includes classroom instruction, hands-on skills training, and testing for ITLS Basic certification. Innovative skills stations let you practice the abilities appropriate for your level of certification.

The ITLS Advanced Provider Course is for advanced level providers only. Lecture content is the same as the ITLS Basic. Information on advanced level patient care is required reading material and will be included in the written exam.  The advanced airway, intraosseous initiation and access, thoracic needle decompression, and external jugular cannulation skills stations will be included in this course.


Pediatric Trauma Life Support

ITLS Pediatric continues the training of the Provider courses, reflecting the same ITLS method of assessment and management, but with an emphasis on the special needs of the pediatric patient. The course teaches the principles of proper assessment, management, critical interventions, patient packaging, and rapid transport for pediatric trauma patients. It also highlights proven techniques for communicating with young patients and their parents.r.


ITLS Rapid Renewal

ITLS is proud to welcome you to the all-new ITLS Rapid Renewal Provider Update, a blended-learning program. This course combines an online component with the Written Exam and Patient Assessment Practical Exam in the classroom setting to allow you to quickly, easily and effectively renew your ITLS Provider certification


Taking trauma training online reinterprets the ITLS Provider classroom instruction in a self-paced, online format that focuses on the essential knowledge to take better care of trauma patients. ITLS stresses rapid assessment, appropriate intervention, and identification of immediate life threats. The ITLS framework for rapid, appropriate, and effective trauma care is a global standard that works in any situation. The ITLS eTrauma course can be used for continuing education or as the first step in achieving ITLS Basic or Advanced Provider certification.


ITLS Completer

The ITLS Completer is the next step if a provider chooses ITLS eTrauma to earn their ITLS Provider certification. The ITLS Completer covers the same skills stations and testing procedures as the ITLS Provider course. Students are tested based on their skill level (Basic or Advanced) and will be awarded an ITLS Advanced Provider or ITLS Basic Provider card upon successful completion.


ITLS Access

ITLS Access teaches skills that are critical for EMS crews and first responders at the scene of a motor vehicle collision. In hands-on modules, you will learn how to reach, stabilize, and extricate trapped victims, with a special focus on patient care during extrication.