Advisory Committee

Angela Sereda

Angela is Deputy Chief and an Advanced Care Paramedic with Moose Jaw and District EMS.  She has been in the Emergency Medical Services Industry for over 24 years and most recently returned to school to become a Community Paramedic, which focuses in Primary Health Care, Home Care and Palliative Home Care.  She has been an ITLS Instructor for 17 years and has been on the Advisory Committee for the Saskatchewan Chapter for the past 4 years as a board member and most recently becoming the Chapter Coordinator and Registrar.  Trauma education has always s been a passion and she continues to strive to provide the highest standard by “improving trauma care worldwide”.  When not in uniform she keeps busy as one of the facilitators for the YMCA Girls Leadership Group, a committee member for the Special Needs Advisory Committee for the City of Moose Jaw as well as she enjoys golfing and spending time with family and friends. 

Terry Hastings

Terry is the Academic Chair of the Saskatchewan Polytechnic Paramedic, Pharmacy Technician and Veterinary Technology programs. He has been a licensed funeral director in Saskatchewan for 31 years and been involved in Emergency Medical Services for 17 years. Terry has been an ITLS instructor for 9 years and has served on the Saskatchewan ITLS Chapter Advisory Committee for the past 4 years, acting as the Advisory Committee Chair for the past 3 years. He was recently appointed Vice Chair of the ITLS International Editorial Board Scenario Development Committee. When not involved with education, Terry enjoys spending time with his family and especially his grandchildren.

Jan Hiebert

Jan’s academic credentials and training accomplishments include a BHSc. degree in emergency pre-hospital care, an advanced care paramedic diploma, a certificate in Leadership Development Program through U of S, and the completion of a comprehensive medical simulation instructor program through Harvard University and MIT. Jan also holds a certificate in Investigating and Managing Adverse Events through he University of Calgary. Jan has directed a significant amount ofher personal and professional development to improving patient safety and decreasing medical errors. 

In her professional portfolio, Jan has more than 25 years of experience facilitating continuing education for physicians, nurses, paramedics and first responders. Jan's front-line paramedic experience includes a variety of roles at MD Ambulance including management roles, RUH emergency department, Saskatchewan Air Ambulance and the Health Bus. 

Jan is currently on the ITLS SK Advisory committee and the co-chair of the ITLS Education Committee. She has also been on the COPR Examination Working Group and Examination Development Group since 2011 and is currently the national co-lead for ACPs on the COPR examination Advisory Group co-lead for ACP’s on the COPR examination Re-boot Advisory Group.

Jan enjoys traveling, camping, swimming and spending time at the lake with her family.

Matt McGurk

Matt is an Advanced Care Paramedic and Full Time Paramedic Instructor with Saskatchewan Polytechnic. He continuous to work with Medavie Health Services West on a casual basis. Matt believes in lifelong learning and holds a Master of Arts in Health Leadership and holds a Certified Health Executive designation through the Canadian College of Health Leaders. He joined the ITLS Saskatchewan Advisory Committee in 2017, Co-Chairing the Education Committee and works with ITLS International as a member of the Scenario Development Team. 

Darcy McKay

Darcy has been in the emergency services field for over twenty-six years and is currently the Clinical Operations Manager for the Shock Trauma Air Rescue Service (STARS) base in Regina, Saskatchewan.  In addition to being a flight paramedic, Darcy has had a lifelong passion for education and is currently in the process of completing his Masters of Business Administration.  Darcy also holds a Masters in Leadership and Training and a Bachelor of Applied Business in Emergency Services.  Darcy has been an ITLS instructor for over a decade and has served on the Saskatchewan ITLS Chapter Advisory Committee for the past 3 years, acting in different capacities and currently as the Advisory Committee Vice-Chair.